The Podium

The Podium

The podium in sports is a funny thing. Just three simple boxes, the tallest in the middle, the one on the left slightly lower and the third to the right slightly lower again. First, Second,  Third…Gold, Silver and Bronze. Yet, the podium hides so much. Like an iceberg floating in the ocean, we only see the tip, but underneath, there is so much more.

Athletes compete for different reasons and motivations. To some extent, I think the podium is about validation. Validation, in a public way, that all that work has paid off and was worth while in some way. And depending on the event, this could also recognize the work, sweat, training, suffering and sacrifice it took to stand on that podium.

An Olympic athlete may train their whole life to get to the pinnacle of their sport, and the rarity of the event makes an Olympic podium an even finer achievement. Other more recreational athletes may focus on an annual event in search of a podium and while not at the same level as an Olympic athlete, the recreational athlete still feels the boldness of the goal, the burning fire of competition, the sweet satisfaction of victory and the bitter disappointment of defeat, just the same.

The podium does not exist in all sports. Major sports leagues like the NHL or NFL do not have a podium – it’s winner take all for the league championship.  Whereas motor racing does have a podium. So why in some sports and not others? Why celebrate the first and second looser?

I think in professional sports, specifically team sports, it makes sense to have a winner take all approach. The league runs each year, the athletes are paid, are recognized, and their efforts validated in other ways.

However, in many individual or amateur sports, the athlete with designs on a podium finish (or even a personal best for that matter) trains in relative obscurity. Non-athlete friends and family just know that training takes a lot of time, it seems important to you, the athlete, but may not understand what is really going on or why it is important to you (mind you, some times, we don’t know either, it just is).

For the amateur and recreational athlete, it is about knowing that you have put out a goal for yourself that may not be possible and only with focus, perseverance, hard work and sacrifice will you give yourself a chance to achieve that goal. If it was easy, it would not be a very worthwhile target, the value is in the struggle and making yourself train, suffer and prepare to be at your best at the right time.  Can you do it?

So a podium represents and celebrates all that hard work that comes before and says to the athlete – we see you – well done!  It has been worth it. And it can give you that incremental incentive to move from the pack to the podium, and from there, someday to the top box.  It gives you reason to fight hard even if you are not the top dog.

Seeing your name second on a results list on the internet and knowing that you achieved a result you aimed for is good, however, being on the podium, in front of your peers, with a good photo to take home as evidence, just seems to feel a whole lot better and it carries a lot of value for the athlete who does not often get there.  Or perhaps that is just my narcissistic traits coming home to roost.

The first time I thought about a podium was in 2015 after a mountain bike race. Up to that point, I had been in many races over many years, but I really didn’t identify as an athlete and I had set no performance goals for myself.  I completed; I did not compete. Sign up – give myself a reason to get out on the bike so I wouldn’t get too fat, feel the excitement of race day and enjoy the race, while trying to stay out of the way of the faster guys (and girls). Performance expectations were low – or at least indifferent. Finish in the top 50% – very cool, better my time from last year – awesome, but if not, no big deal. It was a safe – risk free way to ride – there was no risk of failure, and I always achieved my objective.

Now, there is nothing wrong with that approach at all. I was very happy.  It’s just… sometimes things change…

I took on a coach over the winter of 2014/15 and had improved my fitness and performance levels. I was entering a few mountain bike races in New England, but more for fitness at race pace (I had other goals for 2015 – see my BC Bike Race Posts). One race in particular was very popular, over 500 people in total and 30 in my category alone. The race would take just under 2 hours. That day I felt great, was passing people, flow was good and when I finished, I discovered I had placed 4th in my category as was only behind 3rd by 60 seconds.  OMG a personal best. Fantastic!

And at that very moment…I realized for the first time in my life… that I might actually be able to get on a podium…in a competitive mountain bike race.  And so it began…just like that…a switch was flicked.

Up to that point, my stated strategy for a podium was to simply keep competing every year until there were no more than 3 people in my age category. Just outlive the competition (which I will still keep as a good backup plan). But on that one day, I believed that I could really do it, earn it and deserve to be there.

One thing I must say about podiums, is that the downside is, someone is going to get left out. For a podium capable athlete, 4th place has to be the worst place to finish. Not all the time mind you. A top 5 finish in any event is admirable for many reasons, it may be a personal best (like my first one was), lack of fitness, inconsistent training, illness, injury or just crazy competition can result in a non-podium finish that is the best or better than could be expected that day, and you can and should feel great about it.

But there are those other days when a podium finish opportunity reveals itself…you can see it…you can taste it…

You are having one of your best efforts against tough competition. You are not out in front, but you have passed some guys and are probably 4th nearing the end of the race.

You feel good. Ahead, you catch sight of the 3rd place guy and you push harder than you have all race to try to close the gap.

He has a problem and falters, your heart rate and adrenaline spike even more and you attack, but he is back on and you are neck and neck with a quarter-mile to go.

A little too hot into a corner, DAMN, and he dives down the inside and now you are chasing.

As you round the final corner you are both sprinting to the finish line with everything you have, legs screaming, heart rate through the roof and gasping for air like a drowning man breaking the water’s surface. For the final 30 seconds you are in beast mode, nothing else matters except getting past the guy in front.

Beast Mode

Beast Mode

But alas, you are too late, one bike length back and can not overtake.  Your emotion drains as you cross the finish line. No podium photo to send to family, not swag bag to take home, some valuable championship points missed – will that be the difference in the season points race? Thanks for coming out, see ya next time.

I have got to know some of my competitors over the season and as mountain bikers, they are a pretty good group. We roll over to the other finishers, find out how they did and replay the key duels of the day with shoulder slaps and fist bumps.

Comrades

But that 4th place just sucks – albeit only for a short time. You examine the race in your mind: where did I make mistakes, did I take too long to pass some of the back markers? Why did I take the corner so hot? Do I need to work on sprinting more in my training? Three years ago, could not care less. Today – sucks balls.

Eventually I write-up a race report including lesson’s learned, make training adjustments if needed and feel good about my race effort and move on. Race results are affected by weather, competitors, mechanical issues and many things outside your, so at the end of the day, you can only be satisfied with your effort. If you put it all out there, the result will be what it may.

But for 5-10 minutes right after the race, 4th place is the worst.

Of course it is not always like that.  Some days you are the wagon, but then on other days, you are the horse. 🙂

My 2016 cycling goal was to compete in a series of 13 Root66 Series mountain bike races and 6 Kenda Cup East series mountain bike races and to get on a series championship podium at the end of the season.  Races were held in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Vermont, Connecticut and New York.

In the Kenda Cup East Series, I started slow, but finished with a 7th, 9th, 2nd, 3rd, 3rd and 4th for 2nd place in the overall Series Championship.

In the Root66 series, I again started slow, missed two races, but finished with a 7th, 9th, 2nd, 4th, 6th, 5th ,4th ,4th ,3rd ,2nd ,3rd for 2nd place in the Root66 overall Series Championship beating out my 3rd place nemesis by a single point –OMG that was close.

In the last points paying race, I was behind by 4 points at the start of the race. I needed to finish 1st or 2nd and had to beat my nemesis in order to improve.  I had one of my best races of the year, through a 20-minute torrential rain fall to finish 2nd in that race and edge out my competitor. Talk about down to the wire.  I was pretty happy.

I also had a lot of luck – no serious mechanical issues, no flats, no illness all season.  The bicycle gods were looking favorably on me.

All in all, 2 second place finishes, 4 third place finishes and a silver medal in the Massachusetts State Championship race, with 2nd place in both Championship Series, beyond simply making the podium and exceeding my expectations.  Not bad for a guy who finished dead last in his category in his first race in New England only three years ago.

The Hardware

The Hardware

Bike racing doesn’t amount to a hill of beans for anyone but those participating, and there is no right or wrong way to ride or race a bike – everyone has their own motivations – but for me, those 30 seconds on the podium each time, hands in the air – regardless of the step I was on, felt freakin’ amazing, and the confidence I have gained through the sport has helped me in other areas of my life as well.

I won’t race the series next year, I have some other cycling goals in mind, and the commitment to a season series wears on you.  I had never attempted anything like this before and I am so glad I did.

So let’s keep podiums around.  And even though 4th place sucks, lets keep the podium reserved for the top three – it seems to be working pretty well.  There is nothing like a 4th place finish to motivate a competitor to do better next time and enhance the value of the elusive top 3.

Next time you see someone on a podium, think of what was under the surface.  In my case:

  • 358h:35m:19s in the saddle since January
  • 4,257 miles of peddling (think Boston to Los Angels, then to Vancouver)
  • 153,305 ft of climbing (the equivalent of sea level to the summit of Mount Everest just over 5 times)
  • 92,271 kilo joules generated (enough to fully power an average home for 20 hours)
  • 163,198 calories burned (that’s a lot of bacon cheeseburgers)

Now, podiums aside, let’s get outside and go have some fun!

 

 

 

 

One response to “The Podium

  1. Pingback: Completed as Planned | A Brave New World·

Leave a comment